52 Comments
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Don't scare me like this! You've done TOO good a job this time, Becky!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

This took me far too long 😂

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

LOL! had me for a minute till I got to litcoin!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

STOP IT Becky. I can’t get back those terrifying 30 seconds. 😆😆

Expand full comment

All the terms I don't want to see in regard to literary work -- "creative disruptors," "synergistic platform," "ecosystem," "cryptocurrency," so I suspect this is an elaborate April Fool's joke. At least I hope so...

Expand full comment

Nailed it with the Karina comment!!

Expand full comment

Well done! But I came close to tearing up all my unpublished.

Expand full comment

Ha ha, April Fools! That second paragraph is an absolute byoot of corporate jargon meaninglessness.

Expand full comment

Litcoin--priceless

Expand full comment

ha ! nicely done, folks ;- )

*insert they-had-us-in-the-first-half GIF*

Expand full comment

I love this so much!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

ha ha ha and LOL. Nicely done. I particularly like the new cryptocurrency -- definitely an area of expertise of all writers literary. Thanks for the chuckle.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

I love it! Is there a way I can launder my ill-gotten literary gains through LitFeed? I'm willing to take 50 cents on the dollar. But please act now! Those thugs over at The Paris Review are hounding me for their money and threatening to break my twitter fingers.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

The best pranks are those that are just credible enough to cause doubt or panic. (BT succeeded) A colleague once send a april fool's email that percolated up the ranks and created such a stir that the CEO of a large corporation needed to email a reassurance to the head of a government lab. What fun. In the end it was a loss. To this day, that colleague has never again baited us with another 4/1 prank.

Expand full comment

BECKY!!! CUT IT OUT!!!! I'VE ALREADY HAD ONE HEART ATTACK!!!!!

Expand full comment

Pretty good, although I had my doubts in the second paragraph, where “merger” and “decentralize” are used in the same sentence. When has a M&A ever resulted in the decentralization of anything?

You nailed the language of these kinds of press releases: saying a lot without saying much of anything.

Still, the LitCoin introduction wouldn’t surprise me a "bit." After all, what’s the expression, about the power of an idea whose time has passed?

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

This announcement could not be better timed 👍🏼

Expand full comment

Hilarious!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Well done! Happy April!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

<3 heheheh! This is so wonderful! Happy April!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

I forgot what day it was. And anymore anything seems possible. Well played.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

You kill me. That said, block chain technology is a really good idea and I would accept payment in LitCoin. Like, whatevs.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Can't wait to buy some LitCoin!! The speculative investment I've been waiting for!!!

Expand full comment

Yikes. You probably should have removed the manage-subscription button. I was so close, my thumb hovering.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Waiting for my heart rate to go back down. Thank God this is a joke.

Expand full comment

Should have known, it’s Chill Subs people. Add in Becky and 🪅🦠🧨

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Hilarious!

Expand full comment

Good one!

Expand full comment

Some things I doubt are real turn out to be real, enough that I don't dismiss outlandish shit right off. It's easiest to ponder when I don't have to invest -- whether time, money, or effort. When I have to make a decision, though, when I have to put money on it or do something beyond skimming, my doubt is a pretty good obstacle. I am sure I have missed some quality opportunities from hesitating. I mean, I could be a bitcoin billionaire now, if only ...

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

I was reading... and reading... and reading with increasing horror--and only about when I got to "creative disruptors" and "crypto-influencers" did I finally realize. SNORTED! Good one!!!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Hahahahah! Too soon! (At least you weren't announcing LitGPT!)

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Okay. You had me for a minute

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Bastards. You had me until blockchain.

Expand full comment

Am I dreaming? Please pinch me. 🫣

Expand full comment

Man, you got me. 😂

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2023Liked by Benjamin Davis

Happy April Fools’ Day to you too.

Expand full comment

What a relief that it’s April 1!!!

Expand full comment

I like the idea of Litcoin. I want Litcoin and I want it now.

Expand full comment

OK. Gullible here. I believed this article all the way through. Probably because I don’t understand the rapidly shifting (Lol I typed “shifty”) literary world.

Expand full comment

Ooh. Can I buy LitCoins in exchange for my blockchain of lit mags I have subscribed to and don't manage to read??? (And to think I used to work in tech and attempt to edit away prose like this. :-)

Expand full comment

Those hideous buzzwords...

Expand full comment

What''s the cost going to be? Most poets I know including myself do not subscribe to any service or Poets and Writers or attend AWP because the cost is beyond our means.

Will this be one more advantage , privilege ?

To all the literary mags and editors who are suddenly asking for "BIOPIC" writers and "all those little peoplne we never gave a good flying................. about the "common man ", disinheritend yadda Van Winklesm and now you want our margiinalized writings. But you are late and I have switched to butter

Expand full comment

Shit. I just bought stock in LitCoin. Already a loser. Dang.

Expand full comment

April Fools?? OMG I sure hope so. I've so enjoyed LitMag as it is - without blockchain technology.

Expand full comment

Ahem! All April Fools jokes are based in cruelty. Just ask those who are perennial victims of my beloved wife's "creativity." Or Becky's.

Expand full comment