214 Comments

Culminating about 30 years of off-and-on submitting to The Sun, I had a poem accepted there. I suppose that means never give up.

It appeared in a group of poems about parents/parenting, but I didn't submit it in any topical way. Also, I felt pretty good that they used the last line of my poem as the heading for all the poems.

The editing was organized, thoughtful, and kind. A truly professional group. Not to mention, I was paid, a nice miracle for poetry!

https://www.thesunmagazine.org/issues/572/the-only-ones

Expand full comment

This month I'm happy to say Kelsey Review, the literary magazine of Mercer County Community College (NJ) accepted my short story, "Stones Tell No Lies," for publication. I have a strategy of my work appearing in each (annual) issue, because I teach in the English and History departments at the college and because I direct the Holocaust, Genocide & Human Rights Education Center there (I can give the center more publicity through the publication of my work).

I worked on this story through the first half of 2023 knowing I intended to send it to Kelsey Review and to send it there exclusively. In the past, the editor has nominated my fiction (about antisemitism and the Holocaust) for Pushcart Prizes, which I appreciate. Unlike many college publications, this one allows faculty to submit. It's also published my nonfiction and poetry.

This story will be published sometime in the fall. It is the story of a man in 1980 returning to his hometown of Paris from which he and his parents escaped Nazi occupation. When he returns, he confronts his past and reclaims Judaism with the help of an estranged relative who survived the Holocaust.

I'm already thinking about a new short story to submit to the lit mag next year.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I have just had five poems accepted by the online poetry journal ONE ART. They will appear in their October issue. I had submitted twice before to this journal without any luck, but this time my poems just fit into the issue. Actually, the editor accepted four of the five poems submitted, and when I wrote to thank him, I was bold and offered an additional poem which was related to two of the poems, and he took it. I'm thrilled that the three poems will appear together.

Expand full comment

It has been a banner August. My short story collection "Family and Other Ailments" (Crime Stories Close to Home) came out with Wordwooze Publishing. It's available in a bunch of formats and an audiobook will be available soon. https://books2read.com/u/3Lx0v5 So now, I'm deep into promotion, wrangling reviews, lobbying for interviews... the works! I'm very happy with it - it's 26 stories, so the size of a short novel.

I also had a few stories published.

Two in succession at Shotgun Honey, pure coincidence, as one of them was accepted a year ago.

"A Path Taken" (that's the one from last year) - https://shotgunhoney.com/fiction/a-path-taken-by-m-e-proctor/

"Maybe I Love You" - that's a spine chilling one! - https://shotgunhoney.com/fiction/maybe-i-love-you-by-m-e-proctor/

And then a quirky PI story - "Sweet Marylou" in Illicit Motions from Unnerving Press - https://www.amazon.com/Illicit-Motions-Unnerving-Crime-Book-ebook/dp/B0C7FCY2JY/

Who says August is slow????

Expand full comment

Good morning. I have a flash up in Arboreal Literary Magazine, a fairly new journal (this is the third issue).

https://arborealmag.com/issues/03-illusion/colette-parris-fiction/

I'm usually hesitant to submit to newer journals, but this was a themed issue--Illusion--and I had a piece that seemed appropriate. I'm glad I submitted. The website is great, and the work is available both online and in print. Galleys were sent in a timely manner (they proposed minor grammatical changes, and I was fine with them). I also like the fact that when response times took longer than expected, they apologized via e-mail, explained that they were overwhelmed by the unanticipated 1000+ submissions, and said that they would send out all responses shortly, which they did. This is a no fee, no pay journal, and they are on Twitter. I received an acceptance in 61 days. I had previously received various form and high tier rejections. I finally realized that I was doing too much "telling" in the final paragraph and took out an unnecessary sentence. That seemed to do the trick.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations everyone! It's motivating and inspiring to read your work. I had nothing but lit mag rejections this month, but I can share the link to my poem in this year's Iowa City Poetry in Public program. My poem started riding a bus this month, and I am so thrilled and happy for it. I hope your community hosts a similar program. https://www.iowacityofliterature.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/2023-PIP-Adult-Posters-TO-PRINT.pdf

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

In August I hit a surprising and unexpected tally: 50+ flash, memoir, and travel essay publications/acceptances in the last two years (including some reprints).

"I Had Jesus Hair" appeared in Stone of Madness, the original version of an essay I discovered by accident, so technically not a reprint (https://stoneofmadnesspress.com/issue-22/lev-raphael)

My satire of academia appeared in Monocle of Higher Ed, a lovely humor journal: "Welcome, New Professor!" (https://medium.com/the-monocle-of-higher-ed/welcome-new-professor-9ac92bb20cda)

I'm the author of ten mysteries set in the Ivory Tower world, have 15 years of teaching at the university level, and lots of professor friends, so I know this milieu well. The mysteries are what broke me into the NYTBR, for which I am forever grateful.

"Pancake Fantasy" due the 29th was massively expanded and revised when the editor of Wave offered just a few notes that inspired me. I'm always grateful when editors can be light-fingered but make suggestions that send me right to my keyboard.

Oh, and one more item: a flash essay about disagreeing with my dead mother in Oddball Magazine, which I chose because it's an odd story to tell: https://oddballmagazine.com/essay-by-lev-raphael/

I just did the galleys for my true story of ghostly encounters appearing this September in Paranormal Magazine. I'll supply the link next month.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I published my essay “We Waited for Them” in Threepenny Review: https://www.threepennyreview.com/we-waited-for-them/

It is written in collective “we,” inspired by the book Brown Girls and developed with the help of a lecture during Muse22 given by A.E. Osworth who also wrote a novel using the same perspective. I like innovative forms and I’ve had the idea for the essay for about a year now but only got to work on it last spring.

I learned about Threepenny via Garstang’s list for nonfiction. It’s my first time to send my work to Threepenny, and it was also the piece’s “debut” submission. I didn’t sub my work to them (more like “to her” - the editor, Wendy Lesser, pretty much runs the whole operation!) for a long time because of the no simsub rule, not knowing she sends out a decision real quick. I found this out by getting an acceptance in about 3 days.

It was more or less published in its original form, save for some copyedits. I always find things to edit in my work even if it already got accepted, but I’m quite pleased with the published version.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Two “hot” food poems this month. Oh, my!

https://silverbirchpress.wordpress.com/2023/08/22/slow-burn-by-dick-westheimer-spices-seasonings-series/

https://inquisitiveeater.com/2023/08/16/an-awakening-in-oaxaca/

I love Silverbirch’s pub model. Every year they feature themes and attract and publish poets of all levels to contribute to the fabric of the theme. It’s a lovely community.

The “Inquisitive Eater” is a new one to me and a project of the New School. This was a case of me having a poem that matched the title of their journal pretty much dead on.

Expand full comment

Across the Margin published my story "Sisyphus Becomes Another Person." https://acrossthemargin.com/sisyphus-becomes-another-person/

I found the publication on Chill Subs, read quite a few of their stories, and thought my piece might be a good fit. They responded very quickly with a thumbs up. Originally, it was due to be out in July. I waited several weeks before querying the editor about it's status. He responded immediately, thanked me for my patience, and published it a few days later. They did light house-style edits, which I'm happy with.

Expand full comment

Congrats to all you brave souls.

This month a story that I first drafted some 30 years ago finally found a home in The Wise Owl'. https://www.thewiseowl.art/doug-jacquier

My micro flash piece 'Tent-ness' appeared in Dribble Drabble Review https://www.thedribbledrabblereview.com/ Page 29

My micro flash piece 'Indications' appeared in 50 Word Stories https://fiftywordstories.com/2023/08/21/doug-jacquier-indications/

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

August has brought me to the proofing stage of publication. I didn’t win the SIXFOLD poetry contest, but I was selected by the other poets to be published along with the winning selections in the SIXFOLD 2023 Summer issue. After 75+ subs on Submittable I finally scored a spot in a print journal, which was a goal of mine. Having some readers is next on the list. Any advice!

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I had my first short story appear in The Masters Review in their New Voices feature. Titled "Río Negro" it tells the story of a young woman going to the Amazon to look for her missing sister, a researcher living in a remote village:

https://mastersreview.com/new-voices/rio-negro-by-lynn-sikkink/

I experienced the brand new thrill of launching my anthropological observations into the fictional realm and expressing truths I couldn't explore fully in academic writing.

Thanks for all you do, Becky, and congratulations to those reporting in!

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

August came with 2 acceptances. One was for a future issue (Issue 8 - one ahead of the forthcoming one) of" Exist Otherwise", an edgy journal inspired by French surrealist artist Claude Cahun that publishes writing & b/w art/photography. The editor has accepted my feminist prose poem "Image Matrix". It's a reprint, but I did revise it a little. This will be my 2nd acceptance for this journal - it's coming out in November.

The second acceptance was a complete surprise, because contrary to my usual practice, I'd submitted it very late at night, (2 minutes to the deadline, which isn't my favorite way to submit) & forgotten to record it in my submission tracker. "Antithesis" is a journal affiliated with Melbourne University (my home-town). Their theme was "Cosmos" - and I created a prose poem exploring Ancient Greek mythic ideas about Chaos, linking ideas about creative process. I shaped the poem based on Jacob Tant's painting "The Cosmic Egg".

I honestly worried I'd mixed too many ideas, but sent it anyway. To my astonishment, it was accepted just over a month later. They pay $50 for poetry & I'm excited as I may actually get to attend an in-person journal launch. This is my first acceptance into a University-affiliated journal (in truth I think it's my first submission to one). :) There'll be a revision / proofs process with their editorial team & it's due out in November (hard copy & I'm guessing digital too).

I also reviewed proofs this month for my Pandora re-imagining ("The Price for Fire"), for an anthology on literary female characters by Improbable Press, coming out early 2024.

Expand full comment

I won Synkroniciti's 'Broken short story contest with The Month of Drowning. It will come out in the September issue. My story centers around a girl about to turn fourteen, watching her parents'marriage fall apart. The action takes place in France. Here is the announcement:

https://synkroniciti.com/synkronicitis-broken-short-story-winner-the-month-of-drowning-by-lissa-staples/

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=791174656344396&set=a.533995682062296

I started writing in 2014 after a musical career and three children. This award is so encouraging! Thank you, Katherine McDaniel!

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I spent several days in Norway and then Sweden this month for the Alpine Fellowship. What an intensive and stimulating gathering it was at a gorgeous inn at the edge of a lake. My winning poem is up on the site now. Thanks! https://alpinefellowship.com/once-for-each-thing-just-once-no-more-by-lois-p-jones

Expand full comment

I always enjoy these 'mag brag' forums. Thank you!! They're a wonderful opportunity to share our work and discover others' work as well. For that, I believe we are all grateful!

This month was a good one for me in the way of acceptances. Just last week, I had five poems accepted by four different journals!

As for publications in August:

- My poem 'lagger tag' appeared in the inaugural issue of Do Geese See God.

https://dogeeseseegodmag.wixsite.com/dogeeseseegodmag/lagger-tag

- Two poems were published in another inaugural issue, this one RECESSES, a 'zine based in Birmingham, UK, but open to the world: 'Mackinaw' and 'Nuestra Senora del Carmen'.

https://www.recesseszine.com/i-s-s-u-e-i

- My first attempt at writing a sonnet paid off with the publication of 'sin & retribution' in the August issue of The Minison Project: Shakespeare’s Sonnet Reimagined.

https://theminisonproject.com/theminisonzine/tmzarchive/

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Small stuff, but mine own! Two of my peculiar poems were accepted and published in their original form in August. The one called “Life” that appeared online at Horror Sleaze and Trash was liked by 10 bloggers:

https://horrorsleazetrash.com/2023/08/17/tony-dawson-6/

The other is a short recording called “Mort “and can be found here:

http://www.syndicjournal.us/syndic-narration-mort-tony-dawson/

I hope you enjoy their idiosyncrasy. 😊

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I had flash “The Sound of Music “ published in the South Florida Poetry Journal Review. I’m thrilled to be in this issue with so many talented writers, all star cast. We had a reading too where I read it, which was great because it’s meant to be read aloud. I put the rhyme in this flash as a Smokelong Fitness exercise. SoFloPoJo was fantastic to work with.

Look for my name / sound of music here: https://www.southfloridapoetryjournal.com/flash-30-aug-23.html

Expand full comment

In a fun coincidence, I had two flash fiction pieces published on the same day. One was with Flash Frog, and one was with Fractured Lit as part of their third anthology, the hard copy of which will come out later this year. The pieces couldn’t be more different, so it was interesting to have them come out simultaneously and see the reactions to them. They can be found here:

https://flash-frog.com/2023/07/31/surveillance-by-quinn-rennerfeldt/amp/

And here:

https://fracturedlit.com/when-were-empty-of-what-we-are-designed-to-hold/

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats to everyone! I am pleased that The Examined Life Journal of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine accepted my essay, "The Octopus Trap." I know of TEL as they had published an essay by my wife, Diane Kraynak, several years ago. TEL was on a roll for awhile, accompanying their journal with an annual conference focused on medicine and the humanities. But their website has not been updated and the conference ended last year- probably a pandemic casualty. I'm hoping that this is a "re-boot" year for them.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I'm in an anthology from Tuleburg Press! The anthology is called Center of Attention: Poems on Stockton and San Joaquin. More info here:

https://tuleburgpress.com/product/center-of-attention/

:D

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I was delighted to have a flash story and an ekphrastic micro-poem appear in MacQueen’s Quinterly this month. These were both my first subs to this magazine, and the fastest-ever acceptances--within 24 hours! Clare MacQueen is great: on her own initiative, she added a note to my flash piece, along with a link to possible further reading.

“Marie-Antoinette’s Nose”: http://www.macqueensquinterly.com/MacQ19/Shanley-MA-Nose.aspx

“Active-wear”: http://www.macqueensquinterly.com/MacQ19/Shanley-Activewear.aspx

Expand full comment

Hello, friends!

In August, I published two short poems. My haiku “Sunlight Sifts” appeared in Scarlet Dragonfly Journal 16 (August 15, 2023). https://scarletdragonflyjournal.wordpress.com/category/current-issue/

My tanka “Deer in the Cascades” was published in One Moment at a Time: Tanka Society of America Members’ Anthology. Editor Jim Chessing. Pasadena CA: Tanka Society of America, 2023. 112.

Best wishes! Janet

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I've had a frustrating month in my writing, nothing new emerging, nothing at all interesting. I've done some solid revision work and some submitting, but there's nothing like the delight of something new...

My poem "Wandering the Mojave" was published in The Bluebird Word. https://thebluebirdword.com/wandering-the-mojave-by-cynthia-bernard/

This was my first time submitting to them, and they responded in 7 days.

I sent 5 poems to Heimat Review, all of them not-yet-published work, and the editor, Hannah Orsag, has short-listed two of them for the upcoming fall issue, which will be issue #5 for this litmag. I had poems included in issues #2, 3, and 4; I really like how the journal is laid out as well as how Hannah works with contributors.

Up Your Ars Poetica put out a submission call for an anthology of humorous or amusing poems about poetry or the writing of poetry. I sent them 3 pieces, and 2 have been accepted. Both of these are previously published poems, though one of them has been revised a bit and given a new title.

A poem of mine has been reprinted in an anthology, Beyond the Sand and Sea, that came out a few days ago from Southern Arizona Press.

I had a flash fiction piece published on 100 Words, my first flash publication. http://entropy2.com/blogs/100words/2023/08/16/biopsy-results-in-ten-days/

I also sent out follow-up emails on submissions that are more than 6 months old, withdrew some submissions that never responded to follow-up emails sent in the past, etc.

Here's to a very productive September for us all!

Expand full comment

I have a poem in Grailing Magazine.

They are open for submissions now.

https://www.grailingpress.com/post/grailing-vol-1-no-1

Expand full comment

Nothing from lit mags, but my chapbook, The Beautiful Leaves, came out this month, from Bamboo Dart Press. https://www.bamboodartpress.com/

They were wonderful--conscientious, observant about detail and tone, really committed to helping me speak in my voice, which they heard very well. If you go on their website, there is even a skillful video creation of one poem that is particularly hard to follow out loud Thank you, Mark. Thank you, Dennis.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

This month I had a poem published in the beautiful annual print journal, Connecticut River Review. https://www.ctpoetry.net/index.html. The journal has been publishing since 1978. The editors were very easy to work with, timely with their communications and supportive. They put good effort into establishing a presence on social media, and I'll now have the opportunity to read my work online at the launch event for the 2023 edition.

The acceptance was a confidence booster for me, since most of my more recent publications have been old poems. This poem was much more recent, and the acceptance made me feel that I may still be on the right track.

Expand full comment

I'm adding this in August because they just sent it to me today even though it appeared late May: https://www.thesmartset.com/my-brother-is-toast/

My fault, not theirs--I lost track of due dates and didn't email the editor.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023·edited Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

It's been a slow year for me so far, but I did have a story republished in an anthology this month. Now: though technically the anthology won't be available till October, I have copies, and it is available on an as-yet skimpy web page for pre-orders, so I say that counts for August!

My short story, "Fade to Gray," which I think is one of my best, was originally published a few years ago in the Bangalore Review in India. I submitted it as part of a collection to the Donna Tartt First Fiction contest last year, for short-story writers who have not yet published a collection. I didn't win (this time!), but I was a finalist, hence my inclusion in the yearly anthology.

The contest is run by the Livingston Press of the University of West Alabama. I've read all the stories now, and it's a hell of a good compilation. Unfortunately, the cover art is terribly banal--but the contents most definitely are not!

If you're interested: https://livingstonpress.uwa.edu/Tartts%209.htm. Nine good stories and one typo.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

My short essay, "Crime Scene", was accepted at the Amethyst Review to be published in December. https://amethystmagazine.org/editor/ I was pleased. I really liked the piece and it had been sitting in two Submittable boxes since last fall. (I think one of the journals is dying or dead, but is edited by a friend. Anyway, I just submitted several of the flash pieces I worked on during Smokelong summer and hope this fall will produce some more wins for me.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I didn't publish anything in August (I'm still waiting for responses, though). But I did participate in the Boston Poetry Marathon where 100+ poets read over the course of two days. Free to the public, it was a fabulous poetry party!

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I was quite pleased that https://stonecirclereview.com chose to publish my Elegy for a Stacked Moment: https://stonecirclereview.com/elegy-for-a-stacked-moment/

I know of this review via Xitter (formerly Twitter) and really respect the EIC's poetic acumen and his own skill, so this was extra special to me.

I'd sent Elegy to several venues before Lee accepted it. No revisions during sub process.

There are actually two Sarah's in this poem, but I did not realize that til after it was published.

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2023·edited Aug 27, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

So fun to celebrate at the end of the month. Thanks, Becky.

I had a novel excerpt come out this month in Harvard's Transition Magazine. I was fortunate to have the piece solicited after I pulled another piece from them bc it was being published elsewhere. They said, Got anything else? So I sent them 3 pieces and they selected one. Several things went really well. The piece is set in early 20th century American south, but the Lib. of Congress pics they selected didn't quite fit so I went to the LOC website and found several and suggested them and they were like, Great! So they used them. The first person voice was quite the challenge to get right so I sent in a ton of small edits and they accepted 98 percent of them. The ones they didn't accept, I ultimately thought was a good call on their part once I saw the piece in print. It was a great experience. I got complimentary copies and an unexpected check which was very nice.

https://muse.jhu.edu/pub/3/article/903641 The pdf is available if anyone wants to check it out.

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I got a photo accepted into Koru Magazine. They’re still accepting submissions for their first volume on sustainability if you want to check it out.

And they offer feedback!

https://korumagazine.org

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Trash Panda Haiku just published volume 5, which has one of my haiku in it (!). I totally don't think of myself as a short form poet, so having been included in Trash Panda two volumes in a row is both happy-making and surprising! https://www.trashpandahaiku.org/

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

“A Tutor’s ABCs” appeared July 31 on Porcupine Literary, “a journal by and for teachers.” Answering the Editor’s submission call on Twitter, I used the expedited response option and the piece was accepted five days later, then published as submitted (no editing suggestions) about five months after that. https://www.porcupineliterary.com/post/a-tutor-s-abcs

This essay had been rejected 14 times before acceptance. It had also been named an honorable mention in a contest.

Question for the community: Two extreeeemely minor errors were introduced with publication: One letter of a bolded word and, separately, one entire word were not bolded. This seems so very tiny that I did not mention it to the Editor. Would others have done same?

Expand full comment

Rounding out August with my fantasy short about identity, grief, and motherhood being accepted to Uncharted Magazine! I probably spent the better part of this year trying to place "We Are Made to Bloom" in various publications (with far too many "made it to the final round, but..." moments), and I couldn't be happier that it's found its home. (https://www.unchartedmag.com/stories/we-are-made-to-bloom/)

Expand full comment

Well. I've had a good summer but rejection always smarts. I've found ink in Anti-Heroin Chic Magazine, Book Of Matches Literary Magazine and Moonstone Arts Center's Remembering Charles Bukowski. Better than that, Book Of Matches accepted brand new work that I offered to them exclusively (as a gesture of apology for our mix-up last cycle) and, not only did they accept a poem and a piece of Flash Creative Nonfiction, ™ BABELON was one of the first FCNF pieces I've ever written! Feels good, right? Maybe...

Had to go to Submittable for a rejection letter from JMWW and I ain't gonna lie—it pissed me off! Strange days. Normally, I'd be glad to take the work elsewhere, tickled even to continue using my "whole deer" writing schedule and anyway at the very least generate content for my newsletter and subsequent publications. It pissed me off cuz I was on a roll! Wtf. It goes on...

How do I post links here, btw?

Expand full comment

I had a short story, Flowering, published in The Opiate. I revised it as I sent it out; they published the revised version. https://issuu.com/theopiatemagazine/docs/the_opiate_vol._34. I was pleased with the final result.

I had an essay, The One Thing I've Avoided My Entire Life, published in The Girlfriend. https://www.thegirlfriend.com/health/the-one-thing-ive-avoided-my-entire-life.

Thanks, Becky, for allowing us to do this.

Expand full comment

Four lit sites featured a poem (or five) in August: 5 poems at Otoliths (ed Mark Young says it's the final issue), "Building a House" in Pure Slush's Achievement anthology, two poems in Dark Winter, and "A Window" in Cream Scene Carnival. Among the successes I also talked about the long road in a post on my blog I call, Rejecto-zines. http://lovesettlement.blogspot.com

The folks at Cream Scene Carnival seem to be having fun, matching art and lit -- and even music (if you see their Instagram posts). Their enthusiasm is contagious.

I have, like, four subscribers to a Substack newsletter, which I haven't even started yet. That's a nice vote of confidence, yes? Most of the month I was working at reading over pdfs for two book publications, so I haven't done much else. Now that the balls (balled up manuscripts?) are in the publishers' courts, I can put attention to other things? Or just sink into that doomed feeling that the books will never actually come out ...

I have a friend who is working with a well-regarded small publisher on her third poetry book, and she sends out work to literary publications two ways -- 1) when asked -- and 2) in a brief spasm of two or three followed by several months of inactivity. Yet she has a talent I don't -- she has a talent for engaging with people -- and that seems to make up for any and all other deficiencies in getting work out there.

Expand full comment

i love your enthusiasm... but, it's the weekend I'm just chilling... and deciding, 'is it Oppenheimer or Barbie? ...

Expand full comment

The hurricane made me late to the party but my prose poem, The Urologist, was published in DMQ Review. I found them very easy to work with and loved the other works in the issue: https://www.dmqreview.com/fairbrothersu23

Expand full comment

Listen to the glorious voice actor, Meliory Dockery, read my short short story in Gotham Writers Workshop's online lit mag, The Razor. My piece is called, "Jack and Jill Get Up and Go On." https://therazormag.com/articles/jack-and-jill-get-up-and-go-on/

It was published in its original form at the nexus of the nursery rhyme, reading primers, and late stage capitalism. I hope it makes you laugh!

Expand full comment

After a very long hiatus from short story writing while I pursued a busy career, I was happy to hear that my story, "I'll Call Tomorrow" was picked up by Glass Mountain.

https://glassmountainmag.com/volumes/vol-30/schafron/

Expand full comment

JUST PAST SOON, a poem featured in Anti-Heroin Chic Magazine this month. (https://heroinchic.weebly.com/issues.html)

FOR CHARLES BUKOWSKI ON HIS 103RD BIRTHDAY also featured in The Moonstone Arts Center's Remembering Charles Bukowski this month. (https://open.substack.com/pub/jimtrainer/p/jim-trainers-poem-of-the-week-are)

IMMUREMENT, a poem, and BABELON a piece of FCNF, featured today at Book of Matches Literary Journal. (https://www.bookofmatcheslitmag.com)

ON BRIGHT INDUSTRIAL MORNINGS, an anti-capitalist poem going live at The Moonstone Arts Center's Who's Side Are You On? on 9/3. (There's still time to submit for this one! At https://moonstoneartscenter.submittable.com/submit)

Becky, how can I be considered as a contributor to @LITMAGNEWS? I've been releasing a collection of poetry, and sometimes prose, every year for the last 8 years—fulfilling a pledge of 10 titles in 10 years, soliciting writers and touring round the world, and finding ink in several journals and across mediums.

I would love to be considered and pitch or discuss a contribution anytime.

Thanks again for all you do.

<3

Expand full comment

I submitted three stories and one poem in early August and got two acceptances and two rejections. Super excited for my story and poem to be published!

Expand full comment