168 Comments
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I wrote short stories over the past 20 years and submitted to lit mags. I got nice comments back but somehow my stories never fit in with a theme or were "quite right" for the magazine. I had almost give up when a friend asked to read my manuscript. I had found a way to put the stories all together with a theme of "refugee stories," adding some flash pieces at the beginning, and finding a new title. The friend was enthusiastic and suggested submitting to a publisher that had published her memoir about growing up in Leningrad. The publisher wanted what is now being called my "debut short story collection." Yay! The moral? Never give up. If your story is not right for one lit mag, it may be perfect for another, or it may end up published together with other stuff you have written. The Nansen Factor is up online for pre-order. Amazing!

Expand full comment

Good morning. I have a very short piece ("Diversification") in Centaur, an online journal that only publishes hybrids. The EIC is Lynn Mundell (co-founder of 100 Word Story), and she is lovely. Response time is under one month, payment is $20 (no fee to submit), and Centaur nominates for everything. I highly recommend it. Here's the link:

https://centaurlit.com/diversification-by-colette-parris/

I also have a poem in South Florida Poetry Journal (SoFloPoJo): "After Every Two Words I Hit Mute (In Related News, My Partner Asks Me Why I No Longer Finish My Sentences)." I think the title makes it clear that it's not particularly uplifting--read at your own risk. However, I did want to mention that SoFloPoJo is a well-oiled machine. Response time is within 30 days, they send galleys, they publish quickly, and they nominate for prizes. Unfortunately, you can only send a general link to your work. Also, no payment (but there is no fee to submit).

https://www.southfloridapoetryjournal.com

Both journals are on Twitter/X.

Expand full comment

I had two poems published in response to the Ekphrastic Review challenges in February. One is called "Fields of Witness." The painting reminded me of my grandfather's Polish shtetl. The other "On the Blue-Yellow Spectrum to Green," in response to an abstract painting, reminded me of color theory. I only submitted these to the challenges. https://www.ekphrastic.net/the-ekphrastic-challenges

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I published "Fibers of Being" in Virginia Quarterly Review's latest issue (Winter 2023): https://www.vqronline.org/vqrtruestory-columns/2024/01/fibers-being

I submitted a much longer hybrid/braided piece with photos to about ten places, and a VQR editor emailed a little over a month later asking if I was willing to rework it as a shorter multimedia feature. I asked about the editor's vision, who explained it was for their True Stories column, a social media nonfiction experiment where three-section essays appear online and on Instagram, and the first section appears in print. I really liked the idea of including and even highlighting the photos (and because it's VQR!), so I said yes. Here's the IG version: https://www.instagram.com/p/C2xwzyys7tT/

I chose VQR because I thought the personal angle on history might be a good fit for the magazine. I learned later that the editor happens to have a background in history, which I think contributed to her interest in the piece.

I'm very pleased with the published version, and quite amused what one/I can pack in about 1,000 words. I've received some kind words from folks on Twitter, writing groups, and even from work where I created a digital art/QR code from one photo that links to the essay. Two weeks ago my book club also chose to read and discuss it together with another member's essay.

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I was delighted to learn, last week, that one of my stories has been selected for the Best Microfiction 2024 anthology. I didn’t know that the lovely editor of MacQueen’s Quinterly had nominated it, so the news came as a huge surprise. The story is "Marie-Antoinette’s Nose." Here is the link to its original publication last August: http://www.macqueensquinterly.com/MacQ19/Shanley-MA-Nose.aspx

I see all my stories as love stories, of different kinds. Here’s the link to my first published piece, "Air Raid," in Vestal Review, June 2022: https://www.vestalreview.net/air-raid/

Expand full comment

I first submitted to Hunger Mountain over a decade ago, and after years of kindly no’s, they said yes to a story about a maybe-haunted chicken costume bought off facebook marketplace!

https://hungermtn.netlify.app/issues/hunger-mountain-29/fiction/

Gigantic Sequins also said yes to a couple flash pieces that I’ve submitted on and off for years.

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations everyone! I'm happy to share that I had two poems published by Active Muse. It took Joy 22 tries and Eagle 15 before they found their home. The news that my poems had been accepted was rather sudden. After hearing nothing for four months, the editor let me know by email that my poems were up on the website--

http://www.activemuse.org/2024_Collections/poems/LA_Felleman.html

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I had 3 poems come out in the love-themed issue of The Wild Word. I'm not usually writing love poems, but I happened to have some that fit the bill for them!

https://thewildword.com/poetry-love-anne-graue/

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Is February nearly over already? Becky, I look forward to reading your story when it isn't 1:45 am - congrats! This month has gifted me one acceptance so far. "Front Porch Review" accepted one of my free verse poems. Fee-free, but no pay. I sent a batch of 5 poems & two days later had notice of acceptance from the editor (althought they state a month turnaround) - it's scheduled for April. I didn't know much about the journal, but discovered its acceptance rate is around 13%. I've struggled a little to place my free verse (as opposed to prose poetry) -so maybe the tide is turning for 2024.

Also, I have a reimagining of Pandora (short story) coming out in an anthology of literary reimaginings of female characters "Anna Karenina Isn't Dead" via Improbable Press. We've just received the cover reveal. Release date is Feb 29th. It's been almost a year in the making. This was a paid acceptance (semi-pro rates) plus a contributor copy, which I'll be excited to receive all the way over here in Oz.

In honour of relationship poetry, here's my love at long distance pandemic prose poem, released last month in "Exist Otherwise", a themed journal the editor descibes as surrealist-inspired & edgy. The writing published is often intensely personal.

https://existotherwise.cc/nightfall-in-a-fenced-arcadia/

Expand full comment

The year started in a positive note since a prize finalist story came out in January and two stories that are part of my novel were accepted for publication (Tint Journal, Bellington Review). But the best news just happened last week. The first story of the novel, which in publishing is considered the most important one, since it's what pretty much will carry the book, just got accepted by no other than River Styx. That story went through three major revisions and was rejected 88 times. The namesake of the novel, The Air Beneath Her Feet, has not been published, which I think it's an irony. That story gets personalized rejections, one even from Black Warrior Review. What it's frustrating, is that while 7 stories from the novel have been published, have received several awards, agents don't want to touch the novel. They feel it's too fractured, that I should have stayed with the protagonist instead of moving the narrative around. Hello, that's what Junot Diaz and Jennifer Egan do with their work (winning Pulitzers to boot). So I just finished working with one of the editors and will begin recording, since they want a podcast of my horrible accent to go along the published work.

Expand full comment

I 'm going to focus on the love story call out and share this true story, which like many aspiring writers I tried to get published on Modern Love . It finally found a home on Medium on the site TELL YOUR STORY...https://medium.com/tell-your-story/his-exit-line-was-i-have-a-headache-c05672bed21. And if you like my work, you can see more of what I'm doing at Nadjamaril.com.

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I have a short story, “Alice,” in Mississippi Review issue 51/3 that just published this month in its print magazine. I had submitted it to a handful of places that rejected it, then I added a new scene and sent it out again, and MR accepted it. I chose MR because of the type of fiction it’s open to and wonderful writing I’d seen in previous issues. I didn’t have any ideas when I started the story: just wrote an opening line, asked myself questions about what it set up and promised the reader, what motivated the narrator but held her back, what made her declare things to the reader in the way she did, and proceeded that way until a voice emerged and informed the rest of the story.

Expand full comment

This month my nonfiction piece, The Cleansing of the Temple, was published in the Guitar edition of Syncopation. https://syncopationliteraryjournal.wordpress.com/creative-nonfiction-3/

My story, Arfer Understands Everything', was the featured piece on Marsha Ingrao's wonderful Story Chat https://alwayswrite.blog/2024/02/19/y3-story-chat-summary-9-arfer-understand-everything-by-doug-jacquier/

And my take on the future of air travel, BearAir, is upcoming in The Hooghly Review's Weekly Features section https://www.thehooghlyreview.com/weekly-features

Finally, for my love story contribution, NZ's wonderful Flash Frontier published 'Adam and Eve in the Garden' last year. https://flashfrontier.com/march-2023-ra-sun/ (you'll have to scroll down).

Expand full comment

February has been a big month for me. One of the stories is all about love even if it's not a valentine. A story of deep friendship rather. I guess that counts. It's From The Rubble (published at the amazing Roi Fainéant Press): https://roifaineantarchive.wixsite.com/rf-arc-hive/post/from-the-rubble-by-m-e-proctor

Then my story Deer Tracks was selected by Stone’s Throw (Rock and a Hard Place) for their February issue. The editor called it “a slice of ice-cold noir”. I'm very proud of that one: https://www.rockandahardplacemag.com/stones-throw/feb2024-deer-tracks

The tagline for The Pit in Issue 10 of Guilty Crime Magazine is: Cross the mob and they'll bury you--maybe literally. You'll see: https://www.amazon.com/Guilty-Crime-Story-Magazine-Winter-ebook/dp/B0CVBMJD16/

March will be leaner :)

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Last year I published my story "Sylvia" in the Plentitudes. It's a story about love, about being young and wild, about growing up and mourning the people we lose, including the people we used to be. I think I found this journal on social media, and they were a pleasure to work with. This piece was the first thing I ever workshopped and I got it published not too long after, so that felt really good!

https://www.theplentitudes.com/piece/sylvia

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Have had a poem accepted by the online journal, the Westchester Review, due for publication in mid-March. They have been a delight to work with... very supportive and they provide the opportunity for the poet to provide a recorded reading. The poem is one that I never lost faith in, over the course of a number of years and rejections. As the I Ching likes to say, "Perseverance furthers..."

As for Becky's ask for love-related work, I'd love to share a poem that was published last year in the Connecticut River Review -- many thanks to them. I'm unable to share a link because it's a print-only publications, so forgive my excessive use of space and my chronically bloated ego if I just plop it down here for your perusal.

MY WIFE GOES TO PALM SPRINGS WITH HER BOOK CLUB

When you return,

I’m sure you’ll notice

that the basement smells like piss,

the coffee pot sits blackened

and ruined on the stovetop,

one stale cracker

and a stiff white sock

lie like fallen soldiers

on the dining room table.

When you return,

I hope you’ll understand

there was never any cause for alarm.

The house was never about to burn down,

and the piss in the basement

is the dog’s, not mine.

You’ll find me waiting exactly

where I’m meant to be – lying on the couch,

an unfinished crossword littering the floor,

a melted cube and a whiff of Bourbon

tainting the tumbler balanced on my belly.

I’m drifting off slowly,

eyes half closed,

trying to reach

an agreement with the world.

It’s Saturday at 5 p.m.

I could see twilight dancing

through the blinds, scattering flecks

of yellow gold across the walls.

Instead, all I see is one more day

dissolving into gray without you.

-- Glenn Pape

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Enjoyed your story, Becky. That line, "His blue eyes pulsed inside my veins" is so good I might have to steal, er, borrow, it.

My flash fiction "Probably a Name for It" was posted by the new magazine Midsummer Dream House, and will appear in their first print issue, forthcoming. It's a reprint, appearing previously in (mac)ro(mic) in June 2020.

https://midsummerdream.house/2024/02/fiction-by-jon-fain/

And a bonus love story? How about "From the Deep," published by Fiction on the Web in December 2020.

https://www.fictionontheweb.co.uk/2020/12/from-deep-by-jon-fain.html

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I had one very special flash piece dedicated to my Peace Corps service published this month in Wensum Literary Magazine. "On the Street That's Still Called Lenin" is just vibes basically but a reflection of life in Moldova.

https://wensumlit.co.uk/2024/02/21/on-the-street-thats-still-called-lenin-by-elizabeth-olguin/

I also had another flash piece come out in The Belfast Review on January 31st. I spent some weeks working in Uzbekistan last summer and I wrote this while I was there. "Tashkent" is my piece.

https://thebelfastreview.wixsite.com/home/issues

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

First of all, Becky—this story is absolutely fabulous! I loved every second of it. The voice!!!! Wow. Thank you so much for sharing!

My deep pleasure this month was having a poem in my favorite submission place for children's work, BABYBUG Magazine for 0-3 year olds. I love this literary magazine for the very littles, and I get great joy in writing for them. It's a highly competitive magazine, and this poem was from a group of 6 submissions that had three accepted—I was so excited. What I loved the most—along with knowing that many, many adults and children read/hear these poems—was that a favorite editor commented about the authentic feel of my work for this age group. Exactly what I aim for—so that felt SO good. And I know that any of you who write for children will know that these four little lines were not easy to discover or put together....It's a print magazine, so here's a link to my FB post—along with Laurel Aylesworth's perfect two-page illustration (which I have permission to post): https://rb.gy/16tfgl

Expand full comment

I had a prose poem come out in MacQueen's Quinterly http://www.macqueensquinterly.com/MacQ22/Grossman-Covering-Beds.aspx but not many acceptances despite submissions still pending in 25 reviews. A personalized rejection from Rattle for a Poet's Respond submission. I do have a 3700 word CNF piece that received a "we want to publish this, but not in this form" review, and I've revised and sent the piece back. It's to a major regional 'zine that I'd love to have more work in. I hope that everyone has had a good and productive February.

Expand full comment

Congratulations to all! Happy end of February - almost. I had a story published this month in Ovunque Siamo. Besides being this month, it is an odd love story between a son and his mother, though restrained and unspoken. I've published in this journal before and there were no changes made once it was sent. I've submitted this piece to at least 18 journals (and over the years!) before it was accepted. I am thrilled! Here it is again: https://ovunquesiamoweb.com/winter-2024/mauro-altamura/

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I first wrote this story about 10 years ago and just 2 years started sending it out, then did a big revision, and sent it out again. I submitted it to MudRoom Magazine because I saw a story by a writer I admired in it. I love how all the writers had to take photos of their mudrooms/shoe racks! https://www.mudroommag.com/lori-sambol-brody

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

My story "Home Safe" appeared in Translunar Travelers Lounge this month.

https://translunartravelerslounge.com/2024/02/15/home-safe-by-kiran-kaur-saini/

I originally wrote this as a 1000-word flash, and it was shortlisted at several publications before being rejected. I realized I hadn't done it justice in 1000 words and rewrote it as a full story, and it was then accepted on its first outing.

In the run-up to publication, the editor suggested they missed the trigger for one event, and when I looked into it, I realized I'd left out an important (and thematic) part of the climax and was able to amend the story, so this story was greatly improved by that editorial suggestion.

More of my work at my website: https://kirankaursaini.com

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I had my first publication of the year in Cafe Irreal:

https://cafeirreal.alicewhittenburg.com/newbery.htm

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats, Becky. The Barrelhouse piece was worth the re-read.

I had a lovish flash come out yesterday. It started with a storytelling in presentation workshop I did at my job. As a prerequisite we had to write a few hundred words about either a first date or a first day at work and then read them in a small group. Out of 60 people across 3 continents, I was the only Romeo. So I braided it, posted it in my Smokelong fitness group, got some feedback, and sent it out. I’m so impressed by Mister Magazine. I’m glad I got this piece up there.

https://www.misterzine.com/web/they-build-a-bridge-between-countries

Bulb Culture Collective is super supportive. After they posted a piece I had from a defunct site - I got to answer some questions about my writing process. This is the most I’ve ever disclosed. Lots of shout outs - Lit Mag Reading club for starters.

https://www.bulbculturecollective.com/shine-a-light-series/bcc-shines-a-light-on-dave-nash

Finally this week I saw Rebecca Makkai and Julie Otsuka at the Montclair Literary Festival. They were so engaging. Support your local book festival, sellers, and library!

https://succeed2gether.org/montclair-literary-festival/

Expand full comment
Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

Hello, writer friends!

I had two haiku/senryu and one tanka published in February. My haiku about a barred owl calling for a mate one December night entitled “Owl” appeared in Time Haiku #59 (February 2024). Becky, I guess that this counts as a love poem. My haiku/senryu about the overgrown vegetables in my husband's and my first garden entitled “Zucchini” was published by Haiku Canada Review (February 2024). My tanka about a nest left empty by two catbirds entitled “Empty Nest” appeared in Laurels #1 (February 2024). The Tanka Society of America publishes Laurels, which is a brand-new journal.

Best wishes!

Janet Ruth Heller

Author of the poetry books Nature’s Olympics (Wipf and Stock, 2021), Exodus (WordTech Editions, 2014), Folk Concert: Changing Times (Anaphora Literary Press, 2012) and Traffic Stop (Finishing Line Press, 2011); the scholarly book Coleridge, Lamb, Hazlitt, and the Reader of Drama (University of Missouri Press, 1990); the middle-grade chapter book for kids The Passover Surprise (Fictive Press, 2015, 2016); and the award-winning picture book for kids about bullying, How the Moon Regained Her Shape (Arbordale, 2006; seventh edition 2022).

My website is https://www.janetruthheller.com/

Expand full comment
Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

I love your newsletter Becky! Thank you for all you do. I have a story in Swamp Pink !

https://swamp-pink.cofc.edu/featured/the-smokejumper/

Expand full comment
Feb 25·edited Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations on successes, everyone.

I had a poem, probably love-related in a complicated way, published in SWWIM Every Day on Feb. 5: https://www.swwim.org/swwimeveryday/2024/2/5/two-egrets-at-the-edge-of-a-tidal-marsh?rq=wolman

I've been reading SWWIM Every Day for the past year or so, and chose them because I had a strange confidence in this poem, and because its subject--the relationship between a mother and a daughter--seemed right for this journal. I had revised it a lot, but this was my first try for sending it out. I was thrilled by the acceptance and really like their presentation and wide accessibility -- website & Substack.

I think I missed the January brag, but it's been a good run for me after a long dry spell: Early January a poem in Quartet Journal: https://www.quartetjournal.com/current-issue (5th try for that one), and then at the end of the month a quick acceptance from Ekphrastic Review, also first try: https://www.ekphrastic.net/the-ekphrastic-review/cycladic-harp-player-2700-2300-bc-three-views-by-rebekah-wolman. And a poem accepted on its fourth try in print-only Naugatuck River Review.

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I have a very short piece in winter issue of Persimmon Tree under the Forum: "The Everywhere Wars"

https://persimmontree.org/winter-2024/the-everywhere-wars-forum/

Marianne Goldsmith

Expand full comment

I had a story come out today in just femme & dandy (intentionally lowercase). They describe themselves as "a biannual literary & arts magazine for and by the LGBTQIA+ community on fashion." This issue's theme was time travel—what with all the aforementioned factors, a pretty specific submissions call!

"The Crowd Goes Wild" is a story in which a drag performer wrangles with gender and more in aughts Portland, ME:

https://www.justfemmeanddandy.com/06-goldie-peacock

jf&d was lovely to work with. No fee, subs accepted via email. Added bonus: they pay! $50 for non-features, up to $150 for features. They want cover letters to describe how the work is related to the issue theme, and why the author thinks it's a fit for the mag. I received an acceptance two weeks after submitting, and then was given the chance to make any final changes to the story, my bio and image descriptions before publication. Committed to making the journal accessible, they ask that submitters write descriptions for any accompanying photos, video, sound, etc. That was a new experience for me with a lit mag. jf&d is active on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. The issue has beautiful photos and lots of drag this time around!

I look forward to checking out people's work!

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I had a personal essay, "Tears," accepted by HerStry, to be published in April. Interestingly, it was the first time for me that a piece has been accepted by a lit mag the first time I sent it out. I think because I felt it was a really good fit for the journal and, for once, I judged correctly.

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

"Burs" is a maternal love prose poem. https://hotpotmagazine.com/2023/06/10/issue-five-burs/ Hotpot picked it up the first time I sent it out. I'd gone back in my journal 25 years to refresh this memory, which still moves both me and my daughters.

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

This month the Active Muse published a couple of my poems, “Springtime in Seville” and “North American Conundrum.” I’d be interested to know what anyone makes of the latter. 😊

http://www.activemuse.org/2024_Collections/poems/Tony_Dawson.html

I’ve also had a fleabite published at Fivefleas called “Swan Lake.” It can be found here: https://fivefleas.blogspot.com/

but you then have to look for the date February 16.

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Since the height of the pandemic through this month, I've had close to 70 personal essays (including reprints) published or accepted, plus a handful of short stories. This is the latest news for February, with the link or a PDF, and I picked the mags for their websites and content. No revisions:

--My amusing little story "So My Mother Killed Stalin" appeared in Witcraft: https://witcraft.org/2024/02/21/so-my-mother-killed-stalin-no-really/ How could I not love a magazine with that title?

--I now have the correct URL for "Writer Off the Road" in Roi Fainéant: https://roifaineantarchive.wixsite.com/rf-arc-hive/post/writer-off-the-road-by-lev-raphael

--"Ghost Call," a memoir essay, appeared in Paranormal Magazine, International Edition: https://writewithoutborders.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/Ghost-Call.pdf It's my second piece there.

--"The Zombies Didn't Get Me (and Neither did the Brits)" appeared in an English journal that's been online for 25 years. And it turns out that the part about the NHS really connected with the editor: https://www.hackwriters.com/ZombiesLR.htm

--I also had--surprisingly--a paper proposal accepted for the May 2024 American Language Association in Chicago about how Edith Wharton changed my life and career. I'll be registered as an independent scholar.

Three of my twenty-seven books are Wharton-related: Rosedale in Love (novel), The Edith Wharton Murders (mystery), and Edith Wharton's Prisoners of Shame (biography/literary criticism). I actually keynoted the international Wharton conference in Florence (!) ten years ago. What a gig. Speaking in a medieval church was mind-blowing. Oh, and the food everywhere was splendid.

Expand full comment

After somewhat of a dry spell Cafe Irreal, an online zine celebrating 25 years, took one of my recent jobs. Trying out a new way of doing things. Tired of the rules.

http://cafeirreal.alicewhittenburg.com/spryszak2.htm

Expand full comment

I had a piece accepted to Scribes *micro* fiction which will come out mid-March. I hope to have more good news soon!

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I'll throw to the past, too. This one is still available in their archives at Surely. It's called "Ghost Heart." https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5415c66be4b083b6212c9bec/t/65b1c7e8401d364d8ec2679f/1706149865134/Issue+24+archive.pdf

Expand full comment
Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

I’m honored and excited Midwest Review is publishing my first short story! Thanks to their wonderful editors for finding the perfect landing space for “Blues For Mitch,” a story LOOSELY inspired by my time working at a group home for sexually-abused youths in care, while I was a college student in Lincoln. The editors really got its tough subject matter meets gallows humor tone.

https://midwestreview.org/issues/

For me, even the process of publishing a short story involved a circuitous journey. I wrote the original version of this story two decades ago, promptly burying it in the metaphorical desk drawer. I dusted it off and rewrote it in ‘12, submitting to a handful of literary magazines. 6 (!!) years later (‘18), I got a response from an editor at a Chicago literary magazine I much admired, requesting permission to publish my “hidden gem,” which they’d discovered in the slush. I said yes.

Then…I never heard from the editor again.

I followed up six times over the course of a year before giving up. I’ve been ghosted by lit agents on full manuscript requests, stiffed on payments for writing jobs, and had dozens of yesses curdle to nos over the years in the screenwriting world, but this was new. Apparently five seconds of professional follow up was too much to ask for an “accepted” story. (I won’t call out this lit mag by name--I know and respect someone else affiliated with them, plus my emerging writing career has been arduous enough without the burning of bridges).

In ‘22, I dusted it off, revised and sent it out again. I’m glad I did. Most literary magazines aren’t sustainable enough to pay contributors, but I’m grateful this story is finally out in the universe.

Adam Sleper

Expand full comment

My poem “What If Every Town Had a Pioneer Grill Like the One at Jackson Lake” leads the new West-themed issue of Compass Rose. This one was so much fun to write, and although I prefer submitting to paying markets, I thought this journal seemed like an excellent fit for building out my portfolio of poems and prose that intersect with travel and place. This journal includes art, too, which I really enjoy. My poem is at https://www.flipsnack.com/9DFA6F99E8C/west-compass-rose/full-view.html?p=10, or you can access the journal in pdf form at https://www.compassroseliterary.com/copy-of-issue-3-south (yes, the link says south, but it’s west). Compass Rose says they’ll be announcing new themes soon!

Expand full comment
Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

My poem "Road Trip" was published on Orenaug Mountain Poetry Journal as part of their February series of love poems. This is a reprint of a piece that appeared on Poetry Breakfast last May. https://www.orenaugmountainpublishing.com/2024/02/road-trip.html

My flash fiction piece, "Okay, so my foot didn't fit into that tiny slipper, so what?" was published on witcraft, which was the only place I sent it. https://witcraft.org/2024/02/10/okay-so-my-foot-didnt-fit-into-that-tiny-slipper-so-what/

If you haven't seen witcraft, it's a fairly new online journal run by a fellow in Australia, "because not everything has to be serious." He says, "This is a site dedicated to skillful writing that is brief, humorous and engaging. The emphasis will be on wit, word play, absurdity and inspired nonsense." Great fun to read. He just recently decided to include poetry, and he has accepted one of my poems, which will be the first poem featured there, appearing on March 10th.

I've also had some poems published in print anthologies that came out this month, About Time from Red Penguin Books and Duo (poems about women's relationships) from Linen Press.

Expand full comment
Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats, everybody.

I had a short story about an autistic, nonbinary person in CRAFT this month:

https://www.craftliterary.com/2024/02/09/dress-tim-raymond/

And today woke up to an acceptance from J Journal, which I found here!

Expand full comment

My short story written under my "real-world writing" pseudonym (as opposed to speculative fiction written under my name) was published online by Mystery Tribune: https://mysterytribune.com/my-sweet-rose-detective-short-fiction-by-byron-eflock/

Expand full comment
Feb 25·edited Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

I've had a great month and a half. Amazing in fact with 3 stories accepted. The first one, Coyote Man, came out yesterday at Verdant Journal, and the other two arrive in April at The Hooghly Review and Fictive Dream.

The upcoming stories are called White Tee; and Mama's Basket of Love for a Serial Killer, respectively, the latter of which is the one that was accepted by another journal last year, but then the editor disappeared. It was picked up rather quickly again, so I'm pleased.

I highly recommend all three of these journals. The editors are wonderful, with light, but not over-bearing editing, and great responsiveness.

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I did a reading at the invitation of the Colorado Poets Center from my three collections at the legendary Boulder Bookstore in Boulder, Colorado, the evening of February 20th, and a couple of days before that, my first internationally published poem, "And Time" appeared in the Berlin-based English-language journal THE WILD WORD. ("Love" was the theme, so I gave them something dark.)

https://thewildword.com/poetry-david-perkins/?fbclid=IwAR2yCT7vBCUJzwYqO2o4tgPflbQCY6EI59wa0AOQdzbrXWMhiL43XRqSgkA

All following on the heels of conducting a 6-week, online poetry workshop for Poets House New York, entitled "The Art of it All." Now that all of that busy-busyness is over, I have to get back to creating, I have lines and ideas weeping for attention in my scraps folder ...

Expand full comment
Feb 24·edited Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

A dear friend's death. A started tribute 6 months ago then severe writer's block set it . Finally undone this month. Harness Magazine is a gem, they don't charge any fees. Genesis the owner bought this mag a few years back and took the readership from 4 digits to 5 digits numbers. They were the second mag to publish me over 5 years ago and since published 10 of my pieces. I sent them this finally finished piece this month and they accepted it the next day. Unheard of response speed, unless the angels were guiding your pen!

https://www.harnessmagazine.com/to-yoli-with-love/

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

Surprise! I forgot that my poem "blue water to chicago" would appear this month https://www.bulbculturecollective.com/read/blue-water-to-chicago-jeanne-blum-lesinski.

This site specializes in republishing already published works, so it was rewarding to get an online presence for a work that had appeared in a print publication that is now defunct. The editors were quick to respond.

Expand full comment
Feb 24Liked by Becky Tuch

I wrote the following based from a writing prompt. It was published earlier this month.

https://www.themaluzine.com/post/implant-this?fbclid=IwAR0aO3yBaw-aWtbVOi16Rcrm2Mm25lOOHg79jRqYrbpKV7di_w5ATULp_GQ

Expand full comment

When I write horror, I use the pseudonym D. C. Marcus, and Mr. Marcus had a story published in The Horror Zine this month. The editor, Jeani Rector, was wonderful to work with. She takes care with a writer's work and publishes one of the best journals in the genre. It was a kick to have a story in the same online edition as Ramsay Campbell, one of the first genre writers I followed closely.

https://www.thehorrorzine.com/Fiction/March2024/ChuckAugello/DCMarcus.html

Expand full comment

I was super excited to have my essay "Acre of Darkness" appear as a finalist in Terrain.org's nonfiction contest. Terrain was so great to work with. They have audio versions of their work. As I was reading mine (not intimidating at all. Nope.) I found a couple errors and they were fine about fixing them last minute. (Everyone should read their work out loud before submitting even though it is painful as hell.) https://www.terrain.org/2024/nonfiction/an-acre-of-darkness/

Expand full comment
Feb 25Liked by Becky Tuch

Absolutely loved your story, Becky.

Expand full comment