83 Comments

Good morning. Thanks Becky, as always, for this opportunity, and congrats on your recent publication! I have a short humor piece out this week in the Wit Tea section of The Offing. I received two rejections (one form, one high-tier) prior to acceptance. I heard back from The Offing in early December, after 22 days. (I'm aware that they are known for far lengthier response times; I suspect that each department--and there are many--operates differently.) My editor, Henry Hoke, was absolutely lovely. He was pleasant and responsive, and had two great suggestions: deleting a footnote and adding bullet points. Pursuant to the contract, I am to be paid $50. Here's the link if you're looking for a chuckle today. :)

https://theoffingmag.com/wit-tea/internal-memorandum/

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I had a poem accepted this week for MacQueen's Quinterly 18, and a poem that just came out in J. of Radical Wonder. Poems that should be out soon in Sheila-Na-Gig and First Literary Review-East. An encouraging rejection of my chapbook ms. of prose poems by Garden Party and of a prose poem sent to Full House. A creative non-fiction piece was given a standard rejection by Terrain.com Congrats on everyone's acceptances

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats, Becky! It's such a good feeling to find an editor who's simpatico!

I had a reprint memoir about The Three Musketeers requested from the editor of Bewildering Stories as soon as he read it. We were discussing various topics like translation after he took my ghost story.

Here's the Dumas memoir/essay: http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue990/me_musketeers.html

And I sold another family memoir this month to The Smart Set which means I have a chapbook of 20K words if I want to go that route. The new editor at the Smart Set took it within weeks after submission and I'm waiting for contract and editorial notes--I found two small changes that were necessary when I re-read it upon acceptance.

Five different lit mags passed and it had been circulating not that long, just since mid-January, so that feels really good.

I picked TSS because they published a family memoir of mine last year and it just felt like a good match.

Expand full comment

Congrats, Becky! What a thrill to be in the same issue with Russell Banks.

My short story, "Before the EMP," came out last week in the anthology, Superstition: Tales of Fear, Superstition, and Doom (Redwood Press). It's available as an ebook on Amazon and is coming soon in paperback. This was a paying market (yay!).

Loosely based on a true accidental shooting in Kingman, Arizona, this is a very dark story about superstitions, conspiracy theories, gun violence, and bad parenting. It made the rounds for a while with 20 rejections and one withdrawal before it found a home with Redwood Press. Ann Van De Bergh was a joy to work with. She made a number of small suggestions that took the story to a new level of depth and meaning. I'm very pleased with the final result, and the cover is gorgeous!

Here is the link to the anthology: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BYS73SB9

My other good news is that I signed with an agent in February for my second novel--Alicia Brooks with the Jean V. Naggar Literary Agency. She has been fabulous to work with. We just finished a final round of edits and revisions, and the book is going on submission Monday. If you have any good vibes, send them my direction. Submission is nerve-wracking.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Well, you do have some great things to brag about, Becky!

As for mine:

1) I am the featured guest on Rattlecast next Monday, April 3rd at 8:pm. You can access either via Rattle's YouTube channel or their Facebook page.

2) Two poems in this issue of Northern Appalachia Review. (Here's a link to an image of one of them - https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=10159313221997227&set=a.10150997913797227

3) Just had to order a third box of my Chapbook: "A Sword in Both Hands: Poems Responding to Russia's War on Ukraine." How gratifying that sales have been so robust. (All poet's proceeds go to https://www.ukrainetrustchain.org/about)

Expand full comment

I enjoy hearing of everyone's successes and a bit about perseverance to get there. Among my most recent publications [others are in print only] is a lyrical reflection on a painting I own by an artist I first met in 1976 in France when I was on an exchange program as a teen. https://www.ekphrastic.net/the-ekphrastic-review/sleepy-freeway-by-jeanne-blum-lesinski Having already been published twice before in The Ekphrastic Review, I had a pretty good idea that "Sleepy Freeway" would be accepted there, and it was as a first submission. Often, I just write what I'm moved to write, but this was an instance when I had a publication in mind, though I'd toyed with the idea for over a year before I wrote it. Seeing the painting in my living room everyday was rather like having an accountability partner!

Expand full comment

Congratulations, Becky. Love your new idea about the Lit Mag book club and have suggested that others in my writing group check it out. They have, and one, a short story writer has recently published in CLEAVER and NORTH AMERICAN REVIEW.

I myself have a new poetry mss of 20 poems, 11 of which have seen lit mag publication so I have been looking to place the remaining 9 as I begin to submit the book. These poems are all very long, well over the one-page of real estate for a poem, lyric and loose in the extreme, without punctuation except for the initial capitalization of each line as a "clothespin."

Lovely literary citizen Michael Simms of Vox Populi (online venue) took one, "WAX" which will appear in about a month.

He's reprinted my earlier published work--nice he does that--it brings published work back to notice for a writer, and to me as a reader of other writers.

And, his online venue offers the opportunity for reader comments to which Michael himself often replies.

Another nice feature of the venue is that the bottom of the page includes all Vox Populi's earlier publications by the same author for readers to be tempted to keep reading and read back into the archive.

https://voxpopulisphere.com/2022/07/20/mary-jane-white-lindeman/

Mary Jane White , MFA Iowa, NEA Fellowships (poetry and one in translation). New poems Dragonfly. Toad. Moon. appeared April 2022 from Press 53 (Winston-Salem, N.C.) New translations of Marina Tsvetaeva in After Russia (Adelaide Books, 2021). Contact her at maryjanewhite@gmail.com.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Here’s a shameless attempt to get people to order a GREAT pub (oldest lit mag in Canada) with a story I’m actually proud of within... https://thefiddlehead.ca Only an excerpt is avail online -- so you need the real pub -- but I adore the cover art and as a result am proud when handing it to friends --(I now follow this artist... really interesting stuff)

Expand full comment

Congratulations Becky - you’re in very good company being published along with Russell Banks!

I had my short story “Damn Good Listener” published in issue 4 of Abandon. This was the fourth journal I tried with this work. The editor made the process very easy and provided a great illustration.

just published in Abandon Journal issue#4

https://abandonjournal.com/issue-4/

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations on the publication, Becky! I love the quirky mother in the story, and so relatable, so much of it reminded me of my own, esp. with the typos, hahaha.

I have 2 recent flash fiction pieces were published in trampset (https://trampset.org/girls-howling-e9f32049ae2) and in Flash Frog (https://flash-frog.com/2023/02/27/invisible-enemies-by-christine-h-chen/) and 2 forthcoming in the Atticus Review. Eric Tryon, the EiC of Flash Frog is really nice and responsive. He sent a proof and suggestion edits prior to publication. Also, I love that he commissions artists to create a piece of art with each story. I still have a bunch of short stories that I haven't submitted or submitted once or twice to rejections: short stories are so hard to place and the turn-around time is so long, 6 months - 1 year, some don't respond even after querying, so I've been focusing on writing flash and micro fiction stories. I applaud writers who have short stories (and novels) published!

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations everyone! This is a great way to celebrate a publication.

Here are my two for March:

1. My essay "Not the Same Old Dance: An Ode to Driving Stick Shift" was published in print—and with me reading it—at Wisconsin Public Radio. I had submitted it several times elsewhere, but I am so happy it landed on WPR. The editors were wonderful to work with, they paid me quickly, and they added a great sound track with music and effects for the recording I made.

https://wisconsinlife.org/story/not-the-same-old-dance-an-ode-to-driving-stick-shift/

2. Chill Subs published my craft essay "Baked In" that previously appeared in Sunlight Press. So great to work with these editors who are advocating for writers! They paid quickly and did some creative work with graphics to make my chart look visually attractive and available as a download. https://www.chillsubs.com/blog/baked-in

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

What a great story Becky! Totally riveting, funny and awful. I’m sharing my story inspired by the art world published by Amarillo Bay. I sent it to ca. 15 publications. It was pretty much accepted as is and I only had minimal interaction with editor. I definitely would have been open for suggestions to improve it…but here it is! 😊 https://amarillobay.net/2021/10/29/johanna-da-rocha-abreu-flash-floods/

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Hi everyone! I've been reading this space for months now but haven't contributed. Now I can.

It's not exactly a lit mag, but a poem of mine, "88 Days" appears. This week's Sunday New York Times. That'll be in print tomorrow and it's available on the NYT online edition now. (,In the magazine section.)

It was first published in Heavy Feather Review and appears on my book, Failures of the Poets (Canarium Books).

I'm very grateful to the times editors and Anne Boyer for selecting it, as well as Josh Edwards and Bill Lessard for publishing it in my book and in HFR, respectively.

Expand full comment

Bravo, Becky, for pushing your much-travelled baby over the hill. Had a similar experience recently, with a relatively new online venture, The Muleskinner Journal. They accepted a piece that had accumulated frequent flyer miles, 32 declines in the last couple of years. I had amended and slightly revised the piece during that time, because I'm an inveterate tinkerer, not because of any specific editorial feedback. It improved with age and cellaring, like a bottle of Two Buck Chuck. So, big "wooo-hoo" to the Muleskinners for seeing what I saw in my piece (https://www.muleskinnerjournal.com/party-of-one). Less traveled, a shorter piece in the magical realism vein -- Ashes to Ashes -- recently found welcome at another newish site, Wrong Turn Lit (https://wrongturnlit.substack.com/p/ashes-to-ashes). Their edit team was helpful in identifying a sticky point (thank you!) and have offered warm support. Something new for me, they also produce a feature called "Drinks with Lukas Tallent," in which he interviews one of the pub's writers. We'll be chatting tonight. Check out the banter and other content. BTW, they started with email subs, but it sounds like they're now using Submittable.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Becky, that is wonderful. What a fun, snappy story! I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you, too, for giving us the opportunity to share our "wins".

I had been on Grande Dame's mailer for some time before submitting a short memoir piece. I really like their mission, attitude and approach to helping women writers.

After years of submitting various stories to various publications and getting rejected, Grande Dame Literary accepted this one right away. The editor was supportive and non-abrasive and I took her small suggestions to clarify a few points. Good luck to us all going forward!

https://www.grandedameliterary.com/post/last-psily-trip

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats, everyone! I have a poem in the new issue of NOON: journal of the short poem, which just dropped today. https://issuu.com/noonpress/docs/noon_23

I learned of the journal through Duotrope, but a friend has also published there. I sent them three poems and they took one.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Very enjoyable story, Becky; excellent use of images, kept me engaged, and such a satisfying ending. Congrats!

March began for me with 3 poems published in Verse-Virtual, my first appearance there. I'm honored to be part of that community, to have my work included and to be corresponding with other poets about our work. (https://www.verse-virtual.org/2023/March/bernard-cynthia-2023-march.html)

I had one poem this month in The Beatnik Cowboy (https://beatnikcowboy.com/) ; 7 pieces on Medusa's Kitchen, a villanelle and a triolet on their "Form Fiddler's Friday" and five other pieces as one of their featured poets (http://medusaskitchen.blogspot.com/p/medusa-muses.html); and one piece on Journal of Radical Wonder (https://medium.com/the-journal-of-radical-wonder/mycelia-5a1c8d86b75e). Another poem will be appearing on JRW on the 30th.

Accepted for publication next month: a new poem in Heimat Review (https://heimatreview.weebly.com/), another new piece in Livina Press (https://www.livinapress.com/), and a slightly revised reprint in Journal of Radical Wonder.

The new piece for Heimat Review had only been submitted to them; I love that journal and am very pleased to appear there again. The poem for Livina Press had been revised after a few rejections. The editors of JRW wanted me to make a change in the piece they've just accepted - they wanted me to drop the final line of the poem. I struggled with this, told them I was ambivalent about it - and they replied with encouragement to trust my talent and trust my readers to understand where the poem had led them. With that, I went ahead and accepted their suggested edit.

Thank again for this opportunity to reflect on the past month, Becky. Right now I'm in-process with several poems, sometimes feeling stuck; it's helpful to be reminded of these recent successes.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Well done everyone and Becky! I had two poems come out in Charge Magazine-- https://chargemag.org/issueno6unveiled/2023/1/25/poetrybyla. I'd met two of the editors through writing events in Iowa (where I live), so this mag has been on my radar. Charge gives writers a chance to include an optional artist's statement, which I appreciate. This was the first time I submitted to them; I thought my poems were a good fit for the issue theme. The EIC was easy to work with and she promoted each contributor on social media. Thanks to Becky's Show Me The Money reminder, I can now confirm that, at least for this issue, they are a paying market. The EIC had difficulties using PayPal.

I'm not totally in love with the layout. The photo seems large, and the second poem gets lost. But overall very happy with the experience,.

Expand full comment

Huge congrats! About to dive in and read your story.

I do so love hearing about wins from other writers; it's truly uplifting.

Expand full comment

Congratulations to all who are sharing good news.

Three days ago, my microfiction “Paige Hoshino’s Dream Comes to Pass” appeared in JMWW. It was rejected 24 times before JMWW accepted it.

The editor was pleasant to work with; they only asked me to omit a single word.

https://jmwwblog.wordpress.com/2023/03/22/flash-fiction-paige-hoshinos-dream-comes-to-pass-by-dale-stromberg/

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Great story! This isn't my last publication but it's one of my favorite stories. It was published by Reckon Review in December. Reckon consistently puts out excellent fiction and non-fiction, including thoughtful book reviews. Here's "Spy Head" : https://reckonreview.com/spy-head/

Expand full comment

Congrats everyone! I recently had my second ever piece, a spooky fantasy short story, published at Grim & Gilded magazine: https://www.grimandgilded.com/gabrielle-contelmo

It had been rejected three times before acceptance and I revised the story based on some personalized comments in one of those rejections. Thanks, Becky, for the opportunity to brag--a skill I am trying to learn--and for the excellent newsletter!

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Hello all!

Wanted to share my most recent piece, which ran in Passengers Journal. You can read it here:

https://www.passengersjournal.com/volume-4-issue-1-prose/#feit

I submitted it to three publications and Passengers was the first to respond, about a month later. They didn't ask for any edits. The cool part about this lit mag is that they have audio recordings of all their pieces for more accessibility. I was a bit nervous, thinking whoever was going to read my work wouldn't have the same delivery as I would and I was worried I wouldn't like it. Well, I worried for no reason! My piece was read by their poetry editor, but I would have thought she was a professional actor. Her delivery elevated my work. I feel honored to have had it read by her. I would highly encourage you to submit to Passengers for this incredible experience of hearing your own work.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations, Becky! And how great to have a collaborative editor at the Barcelona Review! Did you know that The Threepenny Review published the stories of Javier Marias for many years? He was one of their regular contributors.

Expand full comment

Congratulations everyone! I had two poems published with Sublunary Review. You can find them here; am loving the art they pared it with: https://www.sublunaryreview.com/home/morning-commute-what-shall-i-do-today

One of the poems – what shall I do today – had been in rotation quite a bit, I really wanted it to find a home. The other – morning commute – I sent in because it somehow seemed to fit the feel of the site. The poem was written as a 'bonus otis' after I was published by Otis Nebula. The online zine asks all its contributors to participate in the creation of a group otis and we enjoyed the process so much that we did three more rounds. Which resulted in three more poems!

For details on what an otis is, see here: http://otisnebula.com/otisnebula/Read_Otis___Be_Otis.html

and you can find our 2022 group otis here: http://otisnebula.com/otisnebula/ON17_group_otis.html

It was a wonderful addition to an acceptance/publication.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Your story is brilliant, Becky. Can't wit to take the time and read everyone else's publications this month. Quite a list!

I had a micro essay published in Persimmon Tree this month: https://persimmontree.org/spring-2023/w-is-it-with-this-weather/

Tnanks, as always, for this substack.

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023·edited Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Hi Becky, yes, that is interesting and great news about your story. I have a story in the Kenyon Review Spring that just arrived this week called "Baboons." It was one of those rare times when this story got taken right away after just a few rejections elsewhere (submitted simultaneously.) They have been wonderful to work with, especially their Chief copy editor Elizabeth Wagner, who saved me by making the prose tighter and fixing a few errors. I couldn't be happier with the process. I can't paste a link because they still have the winter issue online, but I did record a reading of it, which they apparently put online even when the stories themselves are behind a paywall. That hasn't been posted yet either.

Expand full comment

Becky, I love your story. Am I crazy or are there autobiographical bits? (I think the latter!) Character-driven, for sure, but a good plot as well! I applaud the resolution--also that there is a resolution. One little correction--for which it might be too late--"Nicki's desk" I think should read "Naomi's desk." Barbara Bolton

Expand full comment

Congrats, Becky! Great story. You handled the building tension so well.

Thanks again for this feature: I'm discovering so many great works and writers! Congrats to all of you!

I had a strange little piece—feminista sci-fi—published in The Disappointed Housewife. https://thedisappointedhousewife.com/2023/03/07/vaginal-claw-press-information-press-release-by-meredith-wadley/

The idea for the "product" came to me several years back, and the piece I started fizzled out before it ended. I still liked the "product" concept, but since I didn't know how to bring it alive, I shelved it. While cleaning up my files recently, I came across that unfinished fizzle of a piece and got an idea to refashion it. I put together a marketing department "document," which came together very quickly. A few magazines gave me "good ink" rejections, so I felt confident about the new concept—just needed to find the right editor. I discovered The Disappointed Housewife on chill subs and read a few wonderful stories. I also saw many solid, familiar names. Within a week, Kevin Brennen, the editor, reached out with an acceptance. Happy days!

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats, Becky! Congrats, everyone!

I’ve got a poem in the current issue of New Ohio Review: https://newohioreview.org/2023/02/21/sometimes-it-feels-so-animal/

It’s a sonnet I wrote as part of a poem-a-day writers’ group last July. I just looked back and realized I didn’t change a word of it from that first draft (though I took two out of the title); it was one of those rare poems that just arrives as it wants to be!

I started submitting it in September. I’ve had a great experience with NOR and can’t wait to get my contributor’s copy in the mail...It always takes forever for journals to make their way over to me here in rural France.

I’ve also got a sonnet in the current issue of Barrow Street, so just in print, but you can read it on my website: www.poetalicewhite.com

It’s called “Becky Taught Me the Trick That Got Her” but it’s a different Becky. :) This one was a lot more work, and took several forms before telling me to make it a sonnet. (When in doubt, sonnet!)

Expand full comment

Becky, I'm glad that you got your story published in The Barcelona Review! I also have some news to share. My two haiku poems “Crocus” and “Black Pipe” appear in the latest issue of Blithe Spirit 33.1 (February 2023) on pages 18 and 48. I revised both poems several times before finding an editor who liked them. And Margaret Rozga reviewed my poetry collection, Nature's Olympics (Wipf and Stock, 2021) in her article “Abroad, in the Field, and Close to Home: Three Midwestern Poets--A Review Essay" published in the new issue of MidAmerica, volume 49, pages 108-114. See https://www.janetruthheller.com/review-of-janets-poetry-book-natures-olympics-published-in-midamerica/ Best wishes for the spring! Janet Ruth Heller

Expand full comment

Congrats to all on your successes. This month

- the delightful Natalie Welsh published "Scene from the latest Hollywood blockbuster ‘Not-so-close encounters’" in her Syncopation Vol 2 Issue 2. https://syncopationliteraryjournal.files.wordpress.com/2023/02/d.-jacquier-scenefrom-proof.pdf

- Flash Frontier in New Zealand published 'Adam and Eve in the Garden' https://syncopationliteraryjournal.files.wordpress.com/2023/02/d.-jacquier-scenefrom-proof.pdf

I've also had a couple of 'interesting' discussions with editors this month. One related to a rejection based on that old chestnut 'show, don't tell' and one non-paying publication that had 3 editors have their say on my story but we eventually agreed and it will be published. I'm grateful for that but gee willikers ....

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I received two short story acceptances for April and May. One was remarkably brief: one line, three short sentences; the best one, "I have read your story ... and liked it."

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats on your pub, Becky! It’s great to connect with an editor!

That editor for me is Ben Drevlow, editor of BULL. He accepted my short story “Derailed” and to my total surprise, included the story in the print edition BULL10. (The issue was onsite at AWP, so double win!) BULL is about “rewriting masculinity”, so check it out if your work fits that theme.

“Derailed” was submitted as a entry for the annual Pithead Chapel Larry Brown Short Story Award. Winners and honorable mentions receive publication online. I submitted to BULL following the announcement of winners.

BULL came my way via Chill Subs. :)

I wrote “Derailed” a good part of six months and revised at least 10 times.

The story started with an image: A house in my neighborhood way too close to the railroad tracks.

BULL10 is available at Amazon.

BULL online: https://mrbullbull.com/newbull

Thank you for letting us brag, Becky!

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations on your publication and thanks for calling attention to a lit mag new to me. Here's my news. I have two poems in the new issue of Creative Wisconsin Magazine, pp.40-41. https://wiwrite.org/resources/Documents/Creative%20WI%20-%20March%202023.pdf

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

My short story 'Carabas' was published in The Journal, Issue 4.2, Spring 2023.

http://thejournalmag.org/archives/21716

I had been submitting this for at least three years (and very likely more) before it was accepted.

Congrats, Becky, for your acceptance.

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congratulations, Becky on your amazing story in the Barcelona Review!

Two of my short stories are long-listed for an anthology, but I'm not supposed to say the publication at this point. Another was long listed for something a few weeks ago, but didn't make it any farther. Other works just keep making the stomach churning rounds...

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Well ChangeSeven literary is publishing me on april 1 for the second time . Hope it’s not a joke! Honestly that makes 23 times I’ve had my essays/reviews published in the past few years. It’s getting a bit boring ! I want a book! Time to stop being lazy and get to itand give up the instant gratification of being published in litmags

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

I have 2 CNF pieces out in Northern Appalachia Review and Still: The Journal. I heard about Northern Appalachia Review through word of mouth. Still was founded by a professor colleague with whom I'm now in a writing group, but she only makes selections for poetry. I had 2 pieces rejected before this was picked up. No link available for Northern Appalachia Review, but here's my Still essay: https://www.stilljournal.net/laura-dennis-cnf2023.php

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Bravo, Becky! This month, I am happy to brag my translation of a story by Mónica Lavín (México), "Postprandial", in the 50th anniversary issue of Exile Quarterly in Canada. Exile Quarterly was founded by the Canadian writer Barry Callaghan and his brother Michael and Margaret Atwood sits on the board. It is quite beautiful and a great place for works that challenge genre and narrative structure. See here: https://www.exilequarterly.com

Expand full comment

Read it and LOVED it! Piercing.

Expand full comment

No good news to report this month but a big congrats Becky, can’t wait to read it. I looked quickly and am already excited, having been in the art world and all its shenanigans for 28 years (!) now. I’ve certainly written my share of press releases too! CHEERS!

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats on the great pub Becky!

Expand full comment

It's great to see so many authors doing such amazing work! We are a new lit mag just about to open for submissions for our first issue. We hope some of you will consider submitting your work: https://hkwcmagazine.substack.com/

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Such an excellent short story! I am baffled by the prior rejections but happy that it is now available.

Expand full comment

No acceptances recently, only rejections, but I have made a decision not to submit to mags or comps that charge a fee. I know they need funds, but go raise them somewhere else please and don't take them from writers.That decision feels like a win for me!

Expand full comment
Mar 25, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Congrats, Becky!

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2023Liked by Becky Tuch

Becky, sorry I’m slow with my felicitations! I just had foot surgery. Congratulations and congratulations again for the publication of “For Immediate Release.” It’s a wonderful story and I’m so glad you didn’t give up on it. I was drawn to it because Naomi is young, interested in art, and very different from me. And her mother,so wild. In fact, every character was unusual and intriguing and I had to keep reading to find out what Naomi would choose to do! I loved the references to feminism, pornography, and losing ourselves one ‘yes’ at a time. You captured so much life and reality in a short piece. Thank you Becky and Barcelona Review for sharing with us.

Expand full comment

Hats Off! Becky. Devilish weird family saga!

Expand full comment

My short story 'Swayamvara' has been published in Brink (Issue 5, Spring 2023).

https://www.brinkliterary.com/copy-of-no-4-certainty

Expand full comment